Volunteering Group

ABOUT US

For over 45 years, Functional Industries has been providing vocational services to people with barriers to employment. Our mission is to create and promote innovative opportunities that reveal the natural potential of each person we serve.

Volunteering Group

OUR HISTORY

Functional Industries began as an idea in 1972 which soon turned into reality. Ruben Bonk began thinking about his son’s future and decided there needed to be a work program for adults with disabilities. January 21st 1973, Functional Industries became incorporated and began selecting board members. As early as October, the program became operational at Crawford Lake School House south of Buffalo with our first client reporting to work. By the end of 1973, there were ten clients working and the first Director was hired.

Some of the first jobs included packaging screws, assembling light cords and heat lamps. The product came from Minneapolis and was hauled back and forth in a station wagon.

In July of 1974, funds were obtained from Wright County for land and a building. It was completed and occupied by March 5th 1975. These funds established Functional Industries Buffalo Corporate Office in the location it stands today. Not long after this, the Cokato program was established in a rented building. In 1977, Wright County awarded a grant to Functional Industries for the purpose of building a site in Cokato. This project was completed and occupied on January 1st 1979.

The Buffalo location has been added to several times, including an addition to double the main buildings size, a garage and the Jacobs Center building.

When asking Functional Industries founder, Ruben Bonk, how he made this idea a success, he states “I was the right person, in the right place, at the right time.”

Boat Trip
 
Volunteering Group

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

BRUCE D. ANDERSON

JUDY COLEY

JOE MOLESKY

RACHAEL PRAUGHT

ROB STARK

PATRICIA A. TAYLOR

VINCENT
LUNDEEN

CHAIRPERSON

MIKE FOELL

VICE-CHAIRPERSON

SHAUN CORBIN

TREASURER

CHERRYL GILMER

SECRETARY

Team Meeting
Volunteering Group

JOIN OUR TEAM

Our growth continues to create a wealth of career opportunities. We offer employees exciting work in a professional, dynamic environment that encourages learning and growth. Discover your career at Functional Industries, Inc.!

Our employment opportunities cover a wide range of areas including habilitation, rehabilitation, and manufacturing. Functional Industries seeks to employ talented individuals to join our team.

Volunteers

STAFF DIRECTORY

Anselment, Hannah
Employment Specialist

hanselment@functionalindustries.org
763-274-9363

 
Bebus, Katie
SEEK Case Manager

kbebus@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5175

Belland, Jill
Employment Specialist

jbelland@functionalindustries.org
763-294-1121

 
Davis, Samantha
DREAM Case Manager

sdavis@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5191

 
Dick, Heather
Billing Specialist

hdick@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5167

 
Dierks, Teri
Transportation Coordinator

tdiercks@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5198

Ebner, Deb
Supported Employment Case Manager

debner@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5182

Eich, Krissy

Director of Mental Health Services

keich@functionalindustries.org

763-350-6186

Elstad, Brienne
Employment Specialist

belstad@functionalindustries.org
763-350-2886

 
Feekes, Stephanie
Chief Financial Officer

sfeekes@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5164

 
Harwarth, Travis
Supported Employment Case Manager

tharwarth@functionalindustries.org
763-310-6557 

Johanneck, Alicia
Production Manager

ajohanneck@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5174

 
Nordlie, Ashley
Director of Individual Services

anordlie@functionalindustries.org
763-350-0918

O'Donnell, Jenna
SEEK Lead Case Manager

jodonnell@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5180

Oster, Amber
Vice President of Workforce Solutions

aoster@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5170

 
Parteh, Lisa
Vice President of Client Services

lparteh@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5190

Pederson, Rod

Advisor of Governance 

repederson@functionalindustries.org

763-233-5161

Peirce, Sarah 

SEEK Case Manager

speirce@functionalindustries.org

763-233-5175

Powers, Isaiah
SEEK Case Manager

ipowers@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5172

 
Robertson, Brittany
Human Resources Specialist

brobertson@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5166

 

Ruot, Nyawuow

Employment Specialist 

nruot@functionalindustries.org

763-274-9926


Shultz, Cassandra
DREAM Case Manager

cshultz@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5193

 
Tornell, Jo
Employment Specialist

jtornell@functionalindustries.org
763-350-6126

 
Transportation & Attendance Line
763-233-5199

 
Urban, Linda
Employment Specialist

lurban@functionalindustries.org
763-248-6355

 
Zwart, Lisa
President & CEO

lzwart@functionalindustries.org
763-233-5165